PRESS RELEASE

 

On 28 November 2017, on official visit to Burkina Faso, Emmanuel Macron, the French President, promised the release of the secret documents In response to requests from the Burkina Faso justice system, I have taken the decision that all documents produced by French administrations during the Sankara regime and after his assassination, […] considered to be state secrets, be declassified for consultation “.

A series of articles in the twice monthly, highly reputed, Burkina Faso periodical Courrier Confidentiel, divulged numerous revelations, supported by witness statements, that tend to indicate that the French President’s promise has not been kept.

Several Burkinese military and gendarme sources affirm that DGSE agents present on Gendarme premises were destroying documents on 16th October 1987, the day after the assassination of Thomas Sankara. The name of captain Paul Barril was mentioned. These facts, if confirmed, would be proof of close cooperation, in the plot to remove and assassinate Thomas Sankara, between the French and Burkinese specialized services and Blaise campaore who replaced Thomas Sankara as Burkina Faso President.

However, it would appear that no officially declassified documents mention this collaboration. An article dated 5th March affirms that documents that were in fact sent were not released from declassified archives but were Diplomatic archives.

Of course this statement needs to be confirmed. Such confirmation would itself require sincere cooperation between Burkinese and French authorities, this does not appear to be the case.

At a time when the image of France in West Africa is in a phase of serious decline such contempt by French authorities towards the Burkinese people will only hasten the erosion that is spreading through Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger. President Macron is supposed to  represent the French people. He cannot allow himself to make promises to a whole people and not keep those promises.

We demand that French authorities immediately declassify and send all the documents concerning the assassination of Thomas Sankara to Burkina Faso justice authorities.

We demand that the elected members of the French institutions and representatives of the French people call out for France to keep its promises.

After the long dark years of the Blaise Capaore regime that always blocked the course of justice it is now France that has become the main obstacle. This must stop.

 Le 15 mars 2021

In Ouagadougou, Bobo Dioulasso, Paris, Berlin, Barcelone, Dakar, Ottawa, Turin, Bamako, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Ajaccio, Montpellier, Nîmes,Toronto

International Network Justice for Sankara Justice for Africa

Contact : [email protected]

Translation : Mike Krolikowski.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE

 

Le 28 novembre 2017, au cours de son voyage au Burkina, Emmanuel Macron avait promis la levée du secret défense en ces termes « J’ai pris la décision que tous les documents produits par des administrations françaises pendant le régime de Sankara et après son assassinat, […] couverts par le secret défense nationale, soient déclassifiés pour être consultés en réponse aux demandes de la justice burkinabè ».

Une série d’articles publiés dans le bimensuel burkinabè Courrier Confidentiel, l’un des plus sérieux du pays, contient de nombreuses révélations, souvent des témoignages, qui semblent démontrer que les autorités françaises n’ont en réalité pas tenu les promesses du président français.

Par exemple, plusieurs militaires et gendarmes burkinabè affirment la présence d’agents de la DGSE venus détruire les écoutes téléphoniques dans les services de la gendarmerie burkinabè le 16 octobre 1987, soit le lendemain de l’assassinat de Thomas Sankara. L’un d’eux cite même le capitaine Paul Barril. Ces faits, s’ils étaient vérifiés, prouveraient une coopération étroite entre les services secrets français et les auteurs du complot pour détruire les preuves de la participation active de Blaise Compaoré et d’autres officiers au complot pour assassiner le président Thomas Sankara.

En revanche, il semble qu’aucun document déclassifié n’évoque cette collaboration. Dans un article daté du 5 mars, le journaliste affirme, à propos des documents envoyés, qu’«il ne s’agit pas d’archives déclassifiées », mais « d’archives diplomatiques ».

Certes, ces révélations doivent être confirmées. Mais cela nécessite une coopération sincère des autorités françaises et burkinabè, ce qui ne semble pas être le cas.

À l’heure où l’image de la France en Afrique de l’Ouest se dégrade, cette posture peu respectueuse envers la justice et le peuple burkinabè ne peut que renforcer le sentiment de défiance envers la France, qui s’étend en particulier au Burkina, au Mali et au Niger. Le Président Macron est censé représenter le peuple français. Il ne peut se permettre de lancer à tout un peuple des promesses qu’il ne peut pas tenir.

Nous exigeons que la France déclassifie et envoie sans tarder à la justice burkinabè « tous » les documents déclassifiés concernant l’assassinat de Thomas Sankara.

Nous demandons aux élus de la République et à la population française, de se faire entendre afin que la France tienne ses promesses.

Après les longues années noires du régime de Blaise Compaoré, qui ont bloqué les avancées de la justice vers la vérité, c’est aujourd’hui en France que réside le blocage. Cela doit cesser.

 Le 15 mars 2021

à Ouagadougou, Bobo Dioulasso, Paris, Berlin, Barcelone, Dakar, Ottawa, Turin, Bamako, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Ajaccio, Montpellier, Nîmes,Toronto

Le réseau international Justice pour Sankara justice pour l’Afrique

Contact : [email protected]

LAISSER UN COMMENTAIRE

Saisissez votre commentaire svp!
SVP saisissez votre nom ici

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.