International Appeal for the Trial Relating to the Assassination of Thomas Sankara and his Fellow Victims be Filmed

    Tag Justice pour Sankara à Ouagadougou
    Tag Justice pour Sankara à Ouagadougou

    Keep the memory of the trial for posterity

    After a long wait of 34 years, by National, African and International opinion, the trial relating to the assassination of Thomas Sankara and his fellow victims has finally opened on 11 October 2021 amidst the enthusiasm of the Burkina Faso people.  The extensive media coverage on the first day of the trial, with a large number of journalists from all over the world, confirmed the historic nature of this trial.

    We, historians, researchers, lawyers, artists, journalists, political and community activists, and citizens from the world over, were astonished to learn that, despite the prosecutor’s request, arguing that the trial had a ‘democratic, historical and memorial purpose’, the military court has refused to allow that the trial be filmed and recorded. Many voices in Burkina Faso have called for the trial to be filmed, broadcast and conserved as a historical archive.

    In a press release dated 15 October 2021 Mariam Sankara vigorously protested against this decision: “We dare to believe that the Military Tribunal will reconsider and hope that it will grant this request. For it is not only a question of judging the actors of this crime, but also of informing the people, of remembering, with the modern means of communication, this important moment of our collective and individual history. We must learn from it forever in terms of mutual respect and the sanctity of life for present and future generations.”

    The trial has implications for the history of Burkina Faso, Africa and beyond, as well as for national construction. We therefore urge the military court to reverse its decision and to accept that the trial be filmed and entrusted to the national archives of Burkina Faso for documentary and historical purposes. We also urge the defence lawyers not to oppose this.

    Even if the audiovisual archive of the trial is not made immediately public, its creation is a historical imperative, determining specific conditions of access may be done later.

    It is not too late to safeguard the memory of the trial for the history and construction of Burkina Faso as a nation. Any authority and goodwill that can help in this regard is strongly welcomed.

    Ra Sablga Seydou Ouedraogo, Researcheur, Executive Directeur of the FREE Afrik institute, Ouagadougou

    Brian Peterson historien, Albany NY, auteur de Thomas Sankara A Revolutionary in Cold War Africa

    Amber Murrey, Associate Professor in Geography at Oxford University, author of: A certain Amount of Madness, The Life, Politics and Legacies of Thomas Sankara, Oxford,

    Bruno Jaffré, author of works on Burkina Faso and the Burkina Faso revolution, Director of the website thomassankara.net Paris

    First signatures: Alfred Sawadogo, Zakaria Soré, Gnaka Lagoke, Smockey, Horace Campbell, Aziz Salmone Fall, Leo Zeiling, Dr. Moussa Traore, Ama Biney, Dr. Harper-Shipman Takiyah,

    Supported by: Réseau international Justice pour Sankara justice pour l’Afrique, Balai citoyen, SURVIE, CADTM, Comité Sankara de Montpellier, Ligue des Jeunes (Burkina), REPPADD-NIGER, Per a Pace

    Target: 10000 Signatures Received: 42

    0.42%

    Sign this Petition

    Reasons for signing

    Total Signatures: 42

    Robert Maclean

    Nov 13, 2021 at 10:31 pm

    Jacan Stone

    Nov 13, 2021 at 04:47 pm

    Justice por Sankara

    This trial must be filmed so that it may be seen that the Burkinabe traitors and the Western imperial powers who conspired to kill the revolutionary Thomas Sankara are exposed in their evil doings.

    Albert robert

    Nov 13, 2021 at 09:37 am

    Scott Breen

    Nov 6, 2021 at 07:10 pm

    Justice for Sankara, his family and the Burkinabe people- and the truth - demands that the trial and it's proceedings not be kept in the shadow, in secret, but open to the press and public scrutiny.

    Marc OLLIVIER

    Oct 28, 2021 at 07:53 pm

    Ce procès peut mettre en lumière les complicités internationales qui ont peut être été associées au projet et à la réalisation de l'assassinat de Thomas Sankara, d'abord en Afrique, mais aussi en Europe. Il est donc très important de faire connaître les témoignages qu'il révélera dans tous les pays éventuellement concernés ...

    Roch Michaluszko

    Oct 28, 2021 at 02:54 pm

    YVES MICHEL

    Oct 28, 2021 at 01:47 pm

    Tjerk Dalhuisen

    Oct 28, 2021 at 12:13 pm

    This beautiful land and its honourable people deserve justice in all openness

    Timea Campedelli

    Oct 28, 2021 at 08:04 am

    Many CAMARA

    Oct 26, 2021 at 08:09 pm

    Load More

Appel international pour que le procès de l’assassinat de Thomas Sankara et de ses compagnons soit filmé

    Tag Justice pour Sankara à Ouagadougou
    Tag Justice pour Sankara à Ouagadougou

    Sauvegarder la mémoire du procès pour l’histoire

    Le procès de l’assassinat de Thomas Sankara et de ses compagnons s’est ouvert le 11 octobre 2021 dans un engouement affirmé du peuple burkinabè. Un procès historique attendu depuis 34 ans par l’opinion national, africaine et internationale. L’importante couverture médiatique du premier jour du procès, avec un nombre important de journalistes venus du monde entier, n’a fait que confirmer le caractère historique de ce procès.

    Nous, historiens, chercheurs, juristes, artistes, journalistes, militants associatifs ou politiques, citoyens, du monde entier, avons appris avec stupeur que, malgré la réquisition favorable de la procureure arguant du « but démocratique, historique et mémoriel », le Tribunal militaire a refusé que le procès soit filmé et enregistré. De nombreuses voix se sont élevées au Burkina Faso pour demander que le procès soit diffusé, et filmé en vue de la constitution d’archives historiques.

    Dans un communiqué daté du 15 octobre 2021 Mariam Sankara s’élève vigoureusement contre cette décision : « Nous osons croire que le Tribunal Militaire se ravisera et espérons qu’il accédera à cette requête. Car il s’agit non seulement de juger les acteurs de ce crime, mais également d’informer le peuple, de mettre en mémoire, avec les moyens de communication modernes, ce moment important de notre Histoire collective et individuelle. Nous devrons y tirer à jamais des leçons en termes de respect mutuel et du caractère sacré de la vie pour les générations actuelles et futures. »

    Le procès comporte en effet, des enjeux tant pour l’histoire du Burkina Faso, de l’Afrique et au-delà, que pour la construction nationale. C’est pourquoi, nous exhortons le Tribunal militaire à revenir sur sa décision et à accepter que le procès soit filmé et confié aux archives nationales du Burkina Faso à des fins documentaires et historiques. Nous exhortons également les avocats de la défense à ne pas s’y opposer.

    A défaut d’une diffusion immédiate de l’archive audiovisuelle du procès, sa réalisation est un impératif historique, quitte à déterminer des conditions spécifiques d’accès.

    Il n’est pas trop tard pour sauvegarder la mémoire du procès pour l’histoire et la construction nationale burkinabè. Toute autorité et toute bonne volonté pouvant aider à cela sont vivement encouragées.

    Ra Sablga Seydou Ouedraogo, Chercheur, Directeur exécutif de l’institut FREE Afrik, Ouagadougou

    Brian Peterson historien, Albany NY, auteur de Thomas Sankara A Revolutionary in Cold War Africa

    Amber Murrey, géographe politique, Oxford, éditrice de A certain Amount of Madness, The Life, Politics and Legacies of Thomas Sankara, Oxford,

    Bruno Jaffré, auteur d’ouvrages sur le Burkina et la Révolution burkinabè, animateur du site thomassankara.net Paris

    Premiers signataires : Mariam Sankara, Bachir Ben Barka, Alfred Sawadogo, N’Dongo Samba Sylla, Malik Salmekour, Annick Coupé, Demba Moussa Dembélé, Zakaria Soré, Smockey, Robin Shuffield, Fiorella Mannoia, Francis Kpatindé, Issa N’Diaye, Blandine Sankara, Paul Sankara, Pascal Sankara, Aïda Kiemdé George, Leo Zeiling, Dr. Moussa Traore, Dr. Harper-Shipman Takiyah, Lucie Viver, Bikontine, Luc Damiba, Rémi Carayol, Moussa Diallo, Aziz Salmone Fall, Patrizia Donadello, Koulsy Lamko, Gnaka Lagoke, Augusta Conchiglia, Maurice Duval, Pierre Ouedraogo, Horace Campbell,  Juan Montero Gomez, Giulio Chinappi, Mathieu Zongo, Houria Bouteldja, Noël Mamère, Sam’s K Le Jah, Ama Biney, Laurent Bado, Armelle Mabon, François Graner, Pierre Audin, Abdoulaye Diallo, Saïd Bouamama, Lazare Ki Zerbo, Richard Banegas, Olivier Barlet…

    Soutenu par: Réseau international Justice pour Sankara justice pour l’Afrique, Balai citoyen, AJB (Association des journalistes du Burkina), SURVIE, CADTM (Comite pour l’annulation des dettes illégitimes), Ligue des droits de l’homme, AfriqueXXI, Comité Sankara de Montpellier, Ligue des Jeunes (Burkina), REPPADD-NIGER, Per a Pace, Comitato Sankara italiano, AFASPA, FuturAfrik, institut Ben Barka, Collectif secret défense, Syllepse, Les Amis de Ghislaine Dupont et Claude Verlon, Forum Civique Européen, Cercle d’Amis Cornelius Koch, Coopératives Euopéennes Longo maï, Waraba Afrique, Avocats Pour l’Afrique…


     

    Objectif : 10000 Signatures reçues : 5530

    55.3%

    Signez la pétition

    Pourquoi je signe cette pétition...

    Total Signatures: 5530

    Perrine Gallart

    Dec 6, 2021 at 10:39 am

    Oumar Ky

    Dec 4, 2021 at 12:14 pm

    Pace que je suis burkinabè d'où que je sois j'ai le droit de suivre le procès

    Souleymane OUEDRAOGO

    Dec 4, 2021 at 07:01 am

    Je signe parce que des archives sont des repères pour des générations et avons le devoir de les y disposer.

    Jean QUILLERET

    Nov 28, 2021 at 04:52 pm

    Afin d'éviter que l'histoire se répète, il est important de garder la mémoire.

    Anne Merckaert

    Nov 23, 2021 at 02:52 pm

    Paolo Griglio

    Nov 20, 2021 at 08:01 am

    Perché voglio che sia fatta giustizia

    Brigitte ormieres

    Nov 19, 2021 at 09:45 pm

    philippe clement

    Nov 18, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    jeremy veron

    Nov 17, 2021 at 09:54 pm

    L'oubli est le pire ennemi de l'évolution.

    Nelly Ouedraogo

    Nov 17, 2021 at 09:20 pm

    Load More